Criminal Possession of Dangerous Drugs

Montana Code Annotated § 45-9-102 – Criminal possession of dangerous drugs

(1) Except as provided in 50-32-609 or Title 50, chapter 46, a person commits the offense of criminal possession of dangerous drugs if the person possesses any dangerous drug, as defined in 50-32-101.
(2) A person convicted of criminal possession of marijuana or its derivatives in an amount the aggregate weight of which does not exceed 60 grams of marijuana or 1 gram of hashish is, for the first offense, guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $500.
(a) A person convicted of a second offense under this subsection (2) shall be fined an amount not to exceed $500 or be imprisoned in the county jail for a term not to exceed 6 months, or both.
(b) A person convicted of a third or subsequent offense under this subsection (2) shall be fined an amount not to exceed $1,000 or be imprisoned in the county jail for a term not to exceed 1 year, or both.
(c) This subsection does not apply to the possession of synthetic cannabinoids listed as dangerous drugs in 50-32-222.
(3) A person convicted of criminal possession of dangerous drugs not otherwise provided for in subsection (1) or (2) shall be imprisoned in the state prison for a term not to exceed 5 years or be fined an amount not to exceed $5,000, or both.
(4) A person convicted of a first violation under this section is presumed to be entitled to a deferred imposition of sentence of imprisonment.
(5) Ultimate users and practitioners, as defined in 50-32-101, and agents under their supervision acting in the course of a professional practice are exempt from this section.

Visit our Montana Drug Possession Attorneys page.

Angel, Coil & Bartlett attorneys standing outside the courthouse in Bozeman, MT

Communicate With Us

Make a Case For Trust and Experience

  • Montana Trial Lawyers Association
  • Montana Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers